Video Enhance AI won't work with RTX 30 series

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by ddnt32, Oct 25, 2020.

  1. ddnt32

    ddnt32 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    1,531
    Just so you guys now: as of now (October 25th, 2020), Topaz Video Enhance AI v1.6.1 (the latest version at the moment) takes about 20 minutes to load the AI engine, and when it starts, it just produces corrupted frames (in every algorithm, I tried them all). I found this out the hard way, bought an RTX 3090 and tried to use it :(

    A topic in Topaz forums talking about the same issue, but with the 3080:
    https://community.topazlabs.com/t/rtx-3080-is-not-work-on-video-enhance-ai/16611/15

    It seems to be a known issue that is happening with every nVidia 30 series cards. Now I'm hoping for an update in the software or maybe even a driver update that might fix it. But I guess this might take months.

    Screenshot of the problem:
    [​IMG]
     
    Sultan Al-Ali and ianarturis like this.
  2. Loading...


  3. henri_quex

    henri_quex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2018
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    495
  4. Prizm2016Vas

    Prizm2016Vas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    43
    There will be no new videos now?
     
  5. ddnt32

    ddnt32 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    1,531
    I tried to, but first I need to actually but the software haha I mean, I downloaded the beta but only have 30 days left now. But at least, it looks like it's working haha

    I'll try to keep posting for a while with the trial version... but I don't know how it will work, if it will start inserting watermarks and stuff like that
     
  6. henri_quex

    henri_quex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2018
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    495
    You'll have to creat new account every 30 days then. haha for now at least.
     
  7. adam dark

    adam dark Video Music Lover <3 V . I . P.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2,861
    Likes Received:
    7,947
    wow a rtx 3090 with that beast of video card the encoding I think will be faster congrats mate :), with my gtx 1060 takes so much time but works fine yet for my upscales. I am still using topaz v1.50 there is any improvement in the new version of topaz?
     
  8. ddnt32

    ddnt32 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    1,531
    Thanks mate, I'm a huge fan of some of your upscales :)

    The new updates are almost entirely focused on their new algorithm Theia, which for me is almost useless, I never found a single situation it would work without destroying completely all the details haha

    But a good thing is that they added a bit rate slider to choose in the MP4 file format, so now I'm not forced to go with Image Sequence because of the quality, as this option lets me select some very high bitrates for the MP4.

    And yes, the 3090 is VERY fast. It's taking almost always less than 0.2 second per frame, which is around 5 frames per second. With my previous card (GTX 1070) it would take me between 1 to 3 hours for a single video. Now it's around 20-30 minutes haha
     
  9. adam dark

    adam dark Video Music Lover <3 V . I . P.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2,861
    Likes Received:
    7,947
    :O that's really impress the fast the card can do, lucky you with that beast of video card I'm kind of jealous :oops::victory:, I hope there is some fix for the program so you can continue contributing with your amazing work here....keep us up to date with news about your problem with this card and if its already a new update for the program :)
     
    ddnt32 likes this.